Awards and Recognition

Last updated 05 December 2022


Prof. Steve Fassberg
Congratulationsto the Chair of our Academic Committee, Prof. Steven Fassberg, of the Hebrew University's Department of Hebrew Language, who has been awarded the prestigious Landau Prize for the Arts and Sciences in the field of Hebrew Bible and Language. The prize is awarded by Mif'al HaPais (the Israeli Lottery).
Click here for the announcement (in Hebrew). An English translation of the citation follows below:
Prof. Fassberg is one of the world’s leading researchers of the biblical languages, Hebrew and Aramaic. Through his abundant research, he has broken new ground in understanding the vocabulary, grammar, and syntax of Hebrew and Aramaic, while conducting in-depth linguistic analyses and comparative investigations of all the Semitic languages. In his research, he deals with all aspects of ancient Hebrew dialects, from the biblical language in its various traditions to the language of the scrolls from the Judean Desert. He has produced a series of innovative studies in the field of syntax, including a comprehensive introduction to the syntax of the biblical language. He has also devoted many studies to the dialects of Aramaic, from ancient Aramaic to the spoken dialects of modern Aramaic, including a full grammatical description of the Torah translations from the land of Israel found in the Cairo Genizah.

For his many and important contributions to the study of Hebrew and Aramaic, and for the world-wide recognition he brings to Israeli research, Prof. Shmuel (Steven) Fassberg merits the Landau Prize on behalf of the Lottery in the fields of Bible and Hebrew language.

Prof. Michael E. Stone
Congratulations to Prof. Michael E. Stone, founder of the Orion Center, on receipt of the Enoch Seminar Life Achievement Award, “in gratitude for his exceptional contribution to the field of Second Temple Jewish Studies and his generous service in the Enoch Seminar."
The Award will be presented at the opening of the 2020 Enoch Seminar.
Click here to see the Awards program.

In June 2019, Prof. Stone was elected to the Israel Academy of Arts & Sciences, in recognition of his major contributions to the study of Second Temple Judaism and Armenian studies, with special mention of his founding of the Orion Center.
Prof. Vered Noam
The Orion Center congratulates our distinguished colleague, Prof. Vered Noam, of Tel-Aviv University, on being awarded the 2020 Israel Prize for Talmud Studies. She is the first woman ever to have received this prestigious award.
Prof. Noam’s scholarship treats traditions from Second Temple literature through medieval rabbinic works; she is particularly known for her examinations of connections between the rabbinic corpus and the Dead Sea Scrolls and Josephus, respectively. The award is traditionally presented on Israel Independence Day, which falls on April 29 this year.

Prof. Devorah Dimant
The Orion Center extends warm congratulations to our distinguished colleague, Prof. Devorah Dimant of the University of Haifa, on receiving the 2020 Emet Prize in the field of biblical studies. The EMET Prize is known as Israel's Nobel Prize, awarded for excellence which make significant contributions to Israeli society. We appreciate Prof. Dimant's long association with the Center and wish her many years of continuing good health and fruitful scholarship.
Prof. Michael Segal

Prof. Elisha Qimron
The Orion Center congratulates our distinguished colleague, Prof. Elisha Qimron, of Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, on being awarded the prestigious Israel Prize for his path-breaking research on the language of the Dead Sea Scrolls and for the publication of his three-volume Hebrew edition of the Dead Sea Scrolls. The Israel Prize committee noted the significance of presenting the prize to Prof. Qimron during the 70th anniversary of the discovery of the Dead Sea Scrolls and of the founding of the modern state of Israel. The award will be presented on Israel Independence Day, May 19, 2018.

Prof. Emanuel Tov
The Orion Center congratulates Academic Committee member Emanuel Tov, Hebrew University J. L. Magnes Professor of Bible Emeritus, and Editor-in-Chief of the Dead Sea Scrolls Publication Project, on his induction into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

More awards - APRIL 6, 2018
University Scholar Prize awarded to McMaster researchers ....(read more)